What are Ficam approved credentials?

What are Ficam approved credentials?

FICAM establishes a federated identity framework for the Federal Government. Third-party credentials are those credentials issued by non-federal government entities approved by the Federal Identity, Credential, and Access Management (FICAM) Trust Framework Solutions initiative.

What does Ficam stand for?

Federal Identity, Credential, and Access Management
The acronym stands for Federal Identity, Credential, and Access Management (FICAM) Architecture.

What is a Ficam issued profile?

Description. FICAM establishes a federated identity framework for the Federal Government. FICAM provides Government-wide services for common Identity, Credential, and Access Management (ICAM) requirements. The FICAM Trust Framework Solutions (TFS) is the federated identity framework for the U.S. federal government.

What is Ficam compliance?

Any organization working with the US federal government will have to comply with the Federal Identity, Credential, and Access Management regulations (FICAM). The goal was to create a government-wide standard for secure, reliable forms of identification to be issued to all federal government employees and contractors.

What is a credential management system?

Credential Management, also referred to as a Credential Management System (CMS), is an established form of software that is used for issuing and managing credentials as part of public key infrastructure (PKI).

What is identity credentialing?

A credential can be defined as any document, object, or data structure that vouches for the identity of a person through some method of trust and authentication.

How do you manage credentials?

Accessing Credential Manager

  1. To open Credential Manager, type credential manager in the search box on the taskbar and select Credential Manager Control panel.
  2. Select Web Credentials or Windows Credentials to access the credentials you want to manage.

Why is credential management important?

A credential management solution gives organizations the power to efficiently manage both hardware and software based credentials that access digital and physical resources.

What are the 3 types of credentials?

These are examples of academic credentials:

  • Secondary (high) school diploma.
  • College diploma.
  • Bachelor’s degree.
  • Master’s degree.
  • PhD or Doctorate degree.
  • Professional school degree (for example, for law, medicine, teaching)

What are the different types of existing credentials?

Examples of credentials include academic diplomas, academic degrees, certifications, security clearances, identification documents, badges, passwords, user names, keys, powers of attorney, and so on.

What is a HSPD 12 badge?

Homeland Security Presidential Directive 12 (HSPD-12), Policy for a Common Identification Standard for Federal Employees and Contractors directs the implementation of a standardized badging process, which is designed to enhance security, reduce identity fraud, and protect the personal privacy of those issued government …

What is FICAM approved?

– How can I establish governance to ensure ICAM alignment at the agency level? – Who are my key ICAM stakeholders? – What best practices support ICAM implementation?

What is FICAM compliant?

– pivCLASS RKCL40 Contact/Contactless Reader + PIN – pivCLASS RK40 Contactless Reader + PIN – pivCLASS RPKCL40 Contact/Contactless Reader + PIN – pivCLASS RPK40 Contactless Reader + PIN – pivCLASS RP40 Contactless Reader – pivCLASS R40 Contactless Reader – pivCLASS RPKCLB40 Contact/Contactless Reader + PIN +BIO – pivCLASS RKCLB40 Contact/Contactless Reader + PIN + BIO

What is FICAM compliance?

What is Ficam compliance? Federal Identity, Credential and Access Management (FICAM) FICAM activities promote PIV use for strong authentication when accessing federally-controlled facilities and federal information systems. Furthermore, they maintain the ICAM architecture and support government-wide implementation and performance.

What is federated identity management?


  • Inbound and Outbound Identity Federation.
  • Identity Federation vs.
  • Bring Your Own Identity.
  • Federated Account Linking.
  • Just-In-Time Account Provisioning.
  • Just-In-Time Password Provisioning.
  • Home Realm Discovery.
  • Supporting IAM Transitions.
  • Summary.