What is the heritage of the Eastern Cape?

What is the heritage of the Eastern Cape?

The Eastern Cape’s natural heritage is made up of mountains, forests, the big five, a magnificent coastline with an equally rugged coastline and long golden stretches of unspoiled beaches and the semi-arid Karoo. When it comes to nature, the province does diversity best.

Does the Eastern Cape have a world heritage site?

It consists of eight protected areas, namely Table Mountain National Park, Cedarburg Wilderness Area, Groot Winterhoek Wilderness Area, Boland Mountain Complex, De Hoop Nature Reserve, Bosmansbos Nature Reserve, Swartberg Complex and Baviaanskloof, the only area that forms part of the Eastern Cape.

How many cultural attractions are in the Eastern Cape?

Cultural Sites (1 of 587 Things To Do in Eastern Cape)

What is the heritage site of Northern Cape?

The Honoured Dead Memorial The Honoured Dead Memorial is a provincial heritage site in Kimberley in the Northern Cape province of South Africa.

How many heritage sites are there in Western Cape?

South Africa has eight World Heritage Sites proclaimed by UNESCO, namely: Robben Island (Western Cape).

What are the 8 Heritage Sites in South Africa?

South Africa has eight World Heritage Sites proclaimed by UNESCO, namely:

  • Robben Island (Western Cape).
  • iSimangaliso Wetland Park (KwaZulu-Natal).
  • Cradle of Humankind (Gauteng).
  • Ukhahlamba-Drakensberg Park (KwaZulu-Natal).
  • Mapungubwe Heritage Site (Limpopo).
  • Cape Floral Kingdom (Western Cape).

What are the 10 world heritage sites in South Africa?

Top 10 Heritage sites in South Africa

  1. Robben Island, Western Cape.
  2. Vredefort Dome, Free State.
  3. uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park, KwaZulu-Natal.
  4. Cradle of Humankind, Gauteng.
  5. Mapungubwe Cultural Landscape, Limpopo.
  6. iSimangaliso Wetland Park, Kwa-Zulu Natal.
  7. The Castle of Good Hope, Western Cape.
  8. Pilgrim’s Rest, Mpumalanga.

What is in Eastern Cape?

12 Top-Rated Tourist Attractions in the Eastern Cape

  1. The Valley of Desolation. The Valley of Desolation.
  2. The Wild Coast. Hole in the Wall.
  3. Addo Elephant National Park.
  4. The Storms River Suspension Bridge.
  5. Mountain Zebra National Park.
  6. Jeffreys Bay Surf Break.
  7. Baviaanskloof Wilderness Area.
  8. Port Elizabeth Beaches.

Why should you visit the Eastern Cape?

The Eastern Cape is home to some of the best beaches in all of South Africa. Its stretch of beaches includes a section with around 800km of untouched and pristine coastline complete with breathtaking sand dunes, ocean views and natural scenery.

Did you know facts about Eastern Cape?

1: The Eastern Cape covers over 170,000 square kilometres, from snow-capped peaks of the southern Drakensberg Mountains to the lush forests of the Tsitsikamma and along an 800 km long coastline from Cape St Francis to the Wild Coast. 2: Locals are 80% Xhosa-speaking.

What is the meaning of Eastern Cape?

The Eastern Cape (Xhosa: iMpuma-Koloni, Afrikaans: Oos-Kaap) is one of the provinces of South Africa. Its capital is Bisho, but its two largest cities are East London and Gqeberha. The central and eastern part of the province is the traditional home of the indigenous Xhosa people.